Stamp it Out

My co-workers signed me up for a lovely monthly craft box subscription from Darby Smart over the holidays.  They send you fun crafting projects to try, which is a great way to just dive into a craft that you might not try on your own.

The first box was a stamp carving set with special ink to transfer your design onto the provided dish towels.  I was a little nervous when it came to picking what to carve into my stamp.  I jumped between a simple pattern that I could reuse all the time or something really custom that would just be for this project.

Well I finally decided on what I think was a good compromise!

Kitchen Towel Black Printing

You sketch out your pattern onto the stamp, once you are happy with the way it looks, you begin to carve it out.*

*Just remember what ends up on the fabric/paper/whatever will be the reverse of what you see, so if you are writing out a phrase you need it to be the mirror image.

block-printing-step2

Starting with the smallest head on the linoleum cutter you begin to carve out your design.  Go slowly, the heads are sharp!  I went around the edges of my design several times with the smallest head before i moved outward with the next size.

block-printing-step3

Soon you’ll have your very own stamp and you’ll be ready to roll….the ink onto the stamp.  You want a good layer of the block printing ink on there, I strongly recommend practicing on some paper first.

block-printing-step4

I was very happy with how the towels turned out, now I just have to iron them to set the ink.

-Kristy

*Note this is not a sponsored post and I am in no way compensated for my thoughts.  Not that I’m some super blog where people might think this, but thought I would let you know.

Leave a Reply

